even the best cooks (HA!) need a sabbatical

So I’ve been at this “healthy cooking” shtick for almost a year and I feel like I need a make-over. One can only go on so many rants about: how a diabetic diet should look … that I keep reading FB posts “I don’t have time to cook” … complaints that people don’t know what to cook … and my favorite ‘gripe’ of wanting to feel/look better. Those will never go away.

If you take away ANYTHING from all of my posts, I really hope you’ve realized that healthy cooking/eating isn’t brain surgery.  Stop all of these nonsense “detox diets” – sure they give you immediate gratification but try staying on that diet for more than the suggested 30 days – who can live without carbs, sugar, or alcohol for more than that time? I’m sorry but your brain needs carbs, your body needs sugar, and geeze- I need alcohol come every Friday!  Stop that detox and you’ll balloon right back to what you were before. GUARANTEED. How about changing your lifestyle and maintain a weight loss pattern that you’ll be pleased with for years to come.

I have to say that I get excited when I see another person join the healthy living side of things … IG posts and blogs, you name it; it keeps me motivated to keep doing what I’m doing. I love that there are more healthy cooking shows on my go-to channels (Food Network and Cooking Channel), they give me new ideas every Saturday (when I sit down to plan my weekly menu).

So I’m debating what improvements I can make on my blog for the year to come… The humor is slightly gone of me tripping over my dogs – we’ve moved into a bigger house, our sous chefs can watch from the stairs. There is no annoyance of trying to chop/slice/dice things on 2’x2′ counter space – I now have counter space for days! The frustration of not being able to buy fresh produce due to lack of fridge space or buy meat in bulk due to a freezer that defrosts has erased itself with our amazingly awesome new fridge.  The reason I started my blog was to prove that deliciously tempting and healthy meals could be prepared in the most depressing kitchen.  My new kitchen is far from depressing – I LOVE BEING IN IT!

I’ll continue my nightly #kitchentails posts on IG as I prep for dinner.  I’ll keep my blog-posts coming, they just might not be as frequent.  I’m going to start revisiting our favorite meals which I surely don’t have to post about every few days as I do now. We are going on vacation soon and I have every intention of reporting back to the blogging world about our food intake. I already let y’all know that taking a break on our healthy eating adventures was not a good idea on my last vacation. While I do some soul searching of how to update my blog take a look back and see how I’ve turned our eating habits around in 1 year.  Just remember: YOU CAN DO IT TOO! Have fun and be sure your sense of humor is around too – you’ll need it when a dish doesn’t turn out properly or if something doesn’t taste quite right… get in the kitchen and start experimenting.

Image

Leave a Reply

