swapping THIS for THAT

A surprise update! Well Josh is at work still and I really don’t care about the Super Bowl (this year), so I finally got to cooking Friday’s dinner and decided to blog-post right away.

First off I’d like to figure out what the heck is up with the double standard that girls can’t go out alone. Not ‘out-out’, just to a restaurant to grab a bite to eat and a few beers. I’ll digress a bit but this is why Friday didn’t get a meal:

1) Josh worked til 9pm so it was only me

2) I was done teaching at 4:30 with an usually free evening (not complaining!), the beautiful weather was begging for me to enjoy a few beers outdoors

3) I had planned on 1 beer but it became 2 and now I needed food in my belly

While relaxing at BJ’s patio, drinking a yummy hefeweizen, and texting with a friend – I got some glares, even people ‘whispering’ about my solo status. WTH? It’s not like I was sitting at the bar hitting on every guy in the place. I was at a table by myself, 1 beer, 1 appetizer, 1 cell phone (If you didn’t read that in a Kevin Hart voice, you suck 😉 ).  Even the hostess was a little rude, asking me if I was sure I wasn’t expecting a friend. I felt like I was Jason Segel’s character in Forgetting Sarah Marshall. This part is the best, I can’t make it up … an elderly lady caught my eye upon entering the restaurant – I thought maybe the door was too heavy for her to open; I looked up thinking I should go help her, she smiled at me and gave me that look “poor thing being alone” AND THEN she came to my table, leaned over and said “God bless you” … done, walked away. I had no come back, I was shocked.

So what gives … Do I need my husband connected to my hip in order to enjoy a nice evening? People are J.E.R.K.S. Or maybe they were jealous that I have the confidence to go out alone.

Moving on … Friday’s meal became a plan for Saturday. Yeah that didn’t happen either so I made sure it’d be cooked tonight!

And it was.

So easy and it will be replacing mac n cheese (considering how that makes my tummy feel, lol). Ham, onions, cream of mushroom soup, noodles, and cheese – that’s it! It’s a Campbell’s Soup recipe: Pennsylvania Dutch Ham & Noodle Casserole.  25 minutes from start to bowl, c’mon it can’t get any better!

Image

Cube the ham, dice the onion, pour in the soup, melt the cheese, add the *already cooked* noodles, add more cheese, and ENJOY!

Image

Happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

