Cuddles in the kitchen

Well thank goodness this weather is insane because I am airing out my house with windows wide open, from yesterdays french onion soup adventure.  Just a friendly reminder, it was 30 degrees yesterday and most of the city was shut down with icy roads … except by noon everything was clear and roads were completely dry. So there’s that bizarre turn of events.

For some reason I had this notion that french onion soup was incredibly difficult to make.  What the heck was I thinking? It’s beyond easy!  Get yourself a mandolin to make 2 lbs of slicing onions go by in the matter of minutes; I prepped everything earlier in the day so I could come home from teaching and just start cooking.  “EVERYTHING” consisted of 2 lbs of onions for the soup and six mini ham and cheese melts, I’ve made these sandwiches before … super easy and I’ll post instructions again.

IMG_5246

How beautiful is that mound of onions? Yeah well it was pretty stinky and man did it linger! Oh can we talk about how impressed I am with Walmart because I was able to find Gruyere cheese … what?! I know! I almost settled for Gouda but when I ran intro the Gruyere, I did a little happy dance.  Broth, wine, Worcestershire, and balsamic vinegar – that’s it.  I didn’t have the sprigs of herbs the recipe called for so I just sprinkled in parsley flakes and tossed in 1 bay leaf (I didn’t have Thyme). Tasted fine to us!

IMG_5247 IMG_5248

After boiling and simmering the soup for close to an hour, in to the oven/broiler it went. I found these cute oven safe mugs at Walmart too, perfectly sized for the right amount of soup. Geno helped me make sure the cheese didn’t catch fire, he’s such a good helper! Really, any reason to cuddle and that dog is there first in line. McLane wanted in but he’s too big to fit in my lap 😉 .

IMG_5249
Everything turned out perfect and I was so happy with the soup. I will absolutely make it again.  I must remember to add more salt A) while the onions are caramelizing and B) when all of the liquids have been poured. It wasn’t bland but a bit more salt would have been nice.  I do need to give a shout out to my husband though – I typically don’t cook on Friday’s but he promised to help if it meant having french onion soup.  He held up his end of the deal so I kind of had to feed him. He’s the best.

In the end, I shouldn’t have been so skeptical of this making soup … I’ve made much more labor intensive soups before so honestly this recipe was for a rookie. Impress your family, they’ll think you slaved over the stove all day. 100% classic comfort food for a cold day, perfection!

Leave a Reply

