We’ve Been Bad…

Real bad.  I’ve cooked only a few meals since last Wednesday.  

Days I cooked: Wednesday, sort of Friday, and tonight (Monday)
Days we cheated: Thursday (Panda), Saturday (Flying Saucer), and Sunday (Panera)

On top of that, I already know we’ll be cheating this Wednesday, Friday, and Saturday.  Oh shoot, just add Sunday to that list as well.

This is clearly not typical but with our move fast approaching (SATURDAY!!!!) … I’ve given up on my current kitchen. I’m literally sick of it; knowing my new kitchen is so close to being ours, I can’t help but dream of the meals I’ll get to cook starting next week. I honestly have dreams about recipes I’ve been meaning to try. Please don’t think I’m strange.

So I’ll let you know what we’ve had on the days I cooked … Very tasty meals actually: one new recipe, a total cop-out pot roast, and a twist on something I’ve made 2x already.

Wednesday: Pasta with a TON of veggies.
IMG_4417 IMG_4418
Don’t have time for fresh veggies like the recipe calls for? No worries, frozen is clearly the next best option.  I threw them in frozen, HA! Talk about being impatient.
Anyway, so SO easy.  Toss the veggies in a large pan – top with sauce – add cooked noodles. This is only a 2 pot meal! I picked up cute noodle nests (1 nest = 1 serving, all the measuring done for me).  Add a side salad and it’s complete!

Friday: lazy persons pot roast
IMG_4481
These kits exist that have the veggies chopped and vacuumed sealed… meat too, duh.  I was skeptical but Josh had picked it out when I really sent him to find a good hunk of beef to make our own roast.  Eh, figured I’d give it a try.  Just to note most kits don’t come with seasoning (why call it a kit then?!); this one came with “complimentary” spices.  Thanks Tyson, for “throwing in” a spice packet. I’m sure it was a difficult step to add in the assembly line. Sheesh.
End result: not too bad actually! It wasn’t like a homemade roast but if this is going to keep you from hitting up fast food, then purchase it (I know I’m not one to talk after all the cheats last week and coming up). 
My suggestion is to add an extra cup of water. The instructions say 1 cup but it just didn’t look right, the meat was hardly covered. Even with 2 cups it was still a bit dry so I’m going to guess that only 1 cup would make you some tasty shoe leather.
1 kit is perfect for 2 people; zero leftovers.

Tonight made for the saying “third time’s the charm” with spicy shrimp.  This version was our favorite, using hot sauce to marinate and then cook the shrimp (in it) was key. I probably used a 1/2 cup of hot sauce, added the 2 tbsp of lime juice, 1 tbsp of evoo, and then all the dry spices (cumin, chili powder) … mix together and let the shrimp sit. I dumped everything together in a pan and stove top cooked it for 4 minutes. Please PLEASE do not over cook shrimp unless you like rubber.
IMG_4480
I also swapped quinoa for brown rice because we were out of the first. It all turned out the same.  I put about 1 tbsp of lime juice in the rice along with cilantro for flavor. Delish!  Hopefully I can create this version or something close to it, in the future. 

Considering we’ll be eating out quite a bit over the next few days I think I’ll blog about those meals. I’m going to make a conscience effort to order as if I’m cooking a normal meal at the house.  Hopefully by making that statement public, it’ll hold me accountable! FINGERS CROSSED that I don’t turn into a blob.

Leave a Reply

