here fishy, fishy, fishy …

Meatless Thursday was a repeated success story with a tweak here and there. I’ve made fish tacos once before, following Martha’s recipe step by step. This time around, I changed a few things and in my opinion they were even better.

Since Josh was going to have a late night, this would be an easy dinner to cook separate for him when he got home (please, don’t reheat fish … can you say ‘shoe leather’?).  I just set his salmon aside and everything else could be prepared for my dinner, store in bowls and it’s ready to go.

MARTHA’S FIRST STEP:
In a large bowl, combine sour cream and lime juice; season with salt and pepper. Transfer half the mixture to another container; set aside for serving. Toss cabbage, scallions, and minced jalapeno with remaining sour-cream mixture. Season again with salt and pepper.
MY CHANGE:
After separating the 2 uses of sour cream sauce, adding to 1: cabbage, scallions, and jalapeno, I added chopped cilantro (instead of using later for a garnish).

IMG_3320

MARTHA’S THIRD STEP:
In a large nonstick skillet, heat oil and remaining jalapeno half over medium-high heat; swirl to coat bottom of pan. Season fish on both sides with salt and pepper. In two batches (starting with larger pieces), cook fish until golden brown on all sides, 5 to 6 minutes. Discard jalapeno.
MY CHANGE:
I didn’t heat the jalapeno/swirl in pan … It didn’t add any flavor the first time I made these so I nixed that part.
– when using Salmon WITH skin on: cook meat side down on the pan; the skin should peel off nicely.  No need to flip either because even with the thicker strips of fish, salmon doesn’t have to be “done” all the way through.

BTW: this dinner was ready in 30 minutes … prep & cooking time included!

— Josh loves spicy food so after making my dinner, I added more jalapeno (seeds & ribs included) to the cabbage mixture. It sat for a few hours which let all of the flavors really marinate.  He enjoyed it and said the spice level was perfect.

This is such a simple dish – family friendly for sure. If the kids aren’t fans of salmon (Lord knows I would only eat white fish when I was younger, my love for salmon is new) use a less fishy tasting white fish… anyway, make the cabbage mixture 2 ways: sans peppers for the kiddos and add them for the adults. Have the kids make their own tacos, get them active in the kitchen … cooks preach it all the time, kids are more likely to try new things if they helped make it.
P.S. jalapenos aren’t spicy if you remove the seeds & ribs … I HATE SPICY FOOD and I can handle seedless & rib-less jalapenos.

Everything is so calm in the kitchen when Josh isn’t home … he enjoys getting the dogs rowdy which leads to them seeking refuge by me so he’ll stop tormenting them.  However if every evening had nothing exciting to report on, my life would be rather dull.

************

Side note about our new diabetic friendly diet: I’ve dropped 6 pounds since we started eating better. I don’t really exercise much anymore (bad, I know 😦 )… I’m not one for the gym and it’s way too hot to walk the dogs (not a complaint or an excuse, the heat *humidity* is much worse here than in Vegas, it’s not wise for the pups to be out in it and I’ll get bored walking by myself). I’m pretty happy with shedding a few LBS … and now that I’m working more (I’m making it a goal to not sit while teaching … unless I’m playing piano), I should see a few more come off. On top of the weight loss, I feel better – no more “I need my comfy pants” after eating dinner. I have more energy and I’m looking forward to cooler nights so the pups and I can get out & about.

Eating right CAN make a difference … no one said you have to join CrossFit (has anyone noticed that most of those people aren’t even thin? I see lots of beer guts from those meat heads) or hire a personal trainer. Just by changing your diet you’ll start seeing results!

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “here fishy, fishy, fishy …

  1. Pingback: It’s Little Nero’s, sir. I have your pizza. | tails from the kitchen

Leave a Reply

