22 vs. 29

And just like that, it’s already Friday. Man, where did the week go? Kiddos started school this week which means I was back in the classroom for the first time in 2 years (I forgot how much energy is needed to teach elementary and middle school students). Even though I’m only part-time, I was drained by the end of Thursday.

How did I work 2 full-time jobs in Virginia? Oh I know, I didn’t need a social life because I thought working was everything; I was a few years younger and still on the college kick of moving & grooving at all times of day; I was also “single” – I didn’t have a house to run.  Just last week while I was figuring out my fall private lessons schedule, I read it to Josh and he reminded me: I don’t have to do it all. I’d like to get a few more private students but I realized I was trying to book every free hour of my day. Yes, the 22 year-old me was able to take on working 7:30am-3:30pm and then 4-10pm, 5 days a week. I also didn’t cook, I typically ate fast food 5-7x a week.  Awful, right? Yeah, the 10 extra pounds proved it.  I didn’t slow down until we got to Vegas; partially due to the economy but still… I realized it was nice to have some free time.  I started cooking a bit, rotating various marinaded chicken with rice and a frozen veggie.  It wasn’t fancy and we were living on a budget, most funds went to the wedding but we managed to survive.

So that leads me to NOW, the 29 year-old me. I’ve still got a lot to learn but at least I’m achieving a better lifestyle.  I’m remembering to slow down especially since I’ve got another person in my daily life now (ahem, my husband) + 3 fur-babies (I mean, sous chefs)… I am responsible for those around me; just as Josh provides for us (yes, the dogs are definitely considered family members), I make sure to do my part but it doesn’t mean being overloaded. I mean, what’s the point of being married but working so much that you never see your spouse (or fur-babies)? Nor do I want to go back to fast food meal plans.

I guess I divulged my past to show that it is possible to change your lifestyle and start learning how to cook decent meals.  I didn’t start out preparing amazing dishes, I had to adapt and figure it out. I mean my mom did it – worked full time, as did my dad … always having good meals to eat every night (err… if you can consider 4:30pm “night”; news/media peeps will understand, lol) for a family of 4.  I want to be able to do that therefore I need to slow down and accept it. I can do it all – what qualifies as “all” for the 29 year-old me: be a wife + be a mom to 3 dogs + work 1 part time job + teach 17 private lessons per week.

 

I’ll leave you with that … Tomorrow will be a catch up for Wed-Fri dinners 🙂  This week was a wake up call that I’m not 22 anymore….
71_515360566287_13_n
cheers to (sort of) growing up!

227765_10100801915781297_975100963_n

 

Leave a Reply

