Just another manic Monday

My day started at 6AM with the dogs attacking a kitten. I have never heard such horrific “screams” in my life.  Fortunately the dogs got in the house safe but the poor kitten hid and presuming it was a stray, we weren’t going to risk getting scratched or bit.  All I could think was what else will happen on this lovely day? At 6:30 I followed Josh to drop off his truck for repair work. While waiting for the car garage to open, two employees come out and ask “is that your kitten?”, SERIOUSLY?! The cat hung on tight for a 20 minute ride, speeds reaching 70MPH.   An employee offered to take it to a shelter but the kitten wanted nothing to do with people.  It kept swiping and hissing any time we got close.  Poor thing ran off and clearly had a broken leg; we don’t know if the car ride did that or one of our dogs. Sad that there are so many strays in this area, I honestly wish we could save or help all of them.

Ok, I’m sure you’re wondering why I wrote about that incident.  Basically, it was a crazy morning and soon after dropping Josh’s truck off, he had to take my car to work and a doctor appointment.  He got home just in time for me to head out and babysit Miss E; he cut it close, like a 5 minute window close.
Disclaimer: he didn’t take his bike due to rain in the forecast.

Thankfully I got to spend a few hours watching this cutie:

ImageImage

She ‘read’ to me & scooted around the house on her musical scooter. The instrument sounds need to be improved as they are altering her ear training, LOL.  I actually should have taken pictures of her lunch because she eats better than most kids (and adults for that matter).  A multi-grain wrap spread with hummus + a side of blue berries; what an appetite.  Now let nap time commence, 2 hours of quite… so I read (yes, I realize the irony).  I’d love to read more but if I’m not cleaning, hanging out with my sous chefs, or teaching, I’m getting dinner ready. Yesterday I did not have to worry about the last thing.  My payment for watching Miss E is food, hey no complaints here! Kathy prepared zucchini and yellow squash that was bathing in a delish baggie of goodness and her husband got us chicken that had been marinating for THREE DAYS.

ImageImage

Needless to say the only leftovers are a few slices of veggies.  The chicken was devoured in minutes. I planned on making mashed potatoes but was too lazy (which is really saying something because they were the instant kind, ha!) I’m actually glad I didn’t, would have been too much … every food group doesn’t have to be present; starches are bad for Josh anyway.  Plus I hate making REAL mashed potatoes for two people, it’s better in large amounts but reheated mashed p’s is never tasty.

I’ve got 3 dinners of my own to plan and then fajita Friday will be courtesy of Kathy, I get to hang out with Miss E again.

Monday may have started off ‘manic’ but when you know dinner is coming from the spice king & queen; the day could only get better.

Leave a Reply

