Why can’t I buy just 1 TBSP of something?!

I LOVE MARTHA. What more needs to be said? Half of my recipes are from this book right now. My love affair with arts and crafts easily begun at a young age, really taking off in college- just ask any of my sorority sisters.  I’ve always liked to cook but now I’m enjoying it with the help of Martha. This cook book is not “health conscious” so I replace things with a better version, keeping taste in mind.  Not everything needs to be the “light” version; plan a balanced meal instead. Her meals are always portioned for 4 servings which I follow because Josh eats a lot of food. Cut it in half if you’re cooking for yourself & freeze the left overs! Need more convincing to try out this book? Most of the meals take under 45 minutes to prep; who doesn’t have 45 minutes of free time? Seriously, no excuses.

Another reason I like to stick with one book at a time, the same ingredients keep popping up!  Who needs a jar of hoisin sauce when you can only find one recipe calling for 1 TBSP?  Map out your week, rotate nightly themes (one night Asian, next Mexican, followed by Italian, etc)… use that same list each week. You’ll use all of your purchases before they go bad!

My second “go to” is this magazine, which I got free using airline points!!! I made 5 recipes out of the first copy, it’s that good. The people behind this magazine are genius’… download this app and you can save recipes to your phone (take it one step further: pin to Pinterest, share on Facebook, or email it!). I like having recipes printed out but since I have almost zero counter space, my phone is the best solution.

Next chef to take on: Rachel Ray

2 thoughts on “Why can’t I buy just 1 TBSP of something?!

  1. Have you been to Central Market yet? It’s on Broadway street. Not sure about sauces, but I know you can buy spices and seasoning by the tsp if you need it. Nuts and dried fruit are sold by the lb too! It’s an AMAZING store with a huge variety of fruits, veggies, meats and cheeses. Oh and the wine selection is pretty great too;) You should definitely try it out if you haven’t been yet!!

  2. I’ll have to keep that store in mind for the future. I used to get annoyed when I first started to cook more seriously, finding large jars of something that I only needed a small amount of. Now I find at least 5 recipes that use repeat ingredeiants… keeps my pantry rotating as well, so spices don’t expire before I can use them multiple times.

Leave a Reply

