expect a few things

With this blog you will see A) pictures of meals I pull off and B) pictures of my sous chefs… I mean, the blog is titled in their honor.  In case you don’t know me, my sous chefs are 5 years old, 4 years old, and just about 1 year old.  I do not have kids, instead I have 3 dogs.  I consider them my sous chefs because they get in my way, I curse at them, they help clean up … er… scavenge for dropped food, and I know they are secretly judging me with every move I make.  Whatever, I try to not let them get to me; after all the most important judge is myself. I’m critical and very much a perfectionist which absolutely carried over from my real profession as a musician

Of course I can’t forget about my husband Josh, although his opinion doesn’t matter much to me, he eats PB&J and cereal for every meal when I go out of town. He’s also my human garbage disposal, I wonder if he tastes anything. Seriously though, I actually took up this new cooking hobby because of him (clearly that makes my previous statement a joke, I love him).  He was recently diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes; no more fried chicken, mac and cheese, carb loaded dinners, and late night trips to Sonic (happy hour shakes, anyone?!). I had to figure out a new way to cook and if you’ve read any “healthy cooking” blogs or books, maybe you too get the taste of cardboard in your mouth.

Our first grocery trip after the diagnoses lasted 2 hours. 2 HOURS!  We left with maybe $100 worth of food after feeling burned out from reading labels and taking in sticker shock (healthy shopping does cost more, I don’t care what people say). Notice how I said “healthy shopping” not “healthy eating” … yes, getting all the no sugar, lean, and light foods does add up HENCE my new hobby of cooking. There had to be a way to not spend an entire pay check on nasty tasting, sugar-free food.

I may be on to something but making my own mayo, salsa, guacamole, marinades, and sauces just tastes better. I know what went in to everything and there’s a satisfying feeling knowing we’re doing our best to be healthy plus we’re not broke after an entire week of homemade meals. Oh most important, I don’t have to read labels anymore! Sure, I have to be aware of what fruits or vegetables have a high amount of sugar but that’s second nature now.

So while this first entry is pretty dull, it’s just that, my first entry. I’m new at this and I will be sure that my dinner posts are funny because lord knows I’m not a professional cook.  I have about 60 inches of working counter space, the stove/oven is lopsided, my sink is 5 inches deep, the fridge actually freezes and the freezer defrosts, all of my small appliances are on top of cabinets in which I need a step stool to reach or I just trip over it most of the time. 2 of my sous chefs beg and 1 sits on my feet.  I drop knives and curse (like a sailor as Josh would put it); you’d think the kitchen was going down in flames.  Somehow delicious meals always end up on the table, sure they may not look like the recipe picture but they are pretty darn close (I blame the camera). Bonus from all of this, Josh has been told by his many doctors that he is one of the healthiest diabetics they’ve ever seen. He actually had one nutritionist tell another guy (in the diabetes class) “you need to get one of those”, referring to Josh’s personal chef, ME.

2 thoughts on “expect a few things

  1. This is a great idea Donna! I can’t wait to read your “adventures in cooking”. You may inspire me to cook more and eat out less, tonight…taco pie!

  2. Taco pie sounds amazing! I make a cheeseburger pie that is Josh’s favorite… been tweaking the recipe to make it healthier but man is it delicious. We still go out to eat maybe once a week for date nights but I really enjoy cooking & planning weekly menus, it makes eating at home seem fancy 🙂

Leave a Reply

